Lila’s Weblog


A Four-Day Holiday
July 1, 2008, 8:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

My long four-day break from work is coming to an end and I look back wondering what on earth have I accomplished?

Mostly, it was just lazing around doing not much of anything.

But,

1. I lost my cell phone — not such a tragedy since I hadn’t really had it long enough to be comfortable with it.

2. I visited Westgate Books for the first time in months–that took me pretty close to my old Nemesis, CPC, but I turned my back to the south and marched into the bookstore.  Found a couple of books that intrigued:
Sociolinguistic Theory by J K Chambers (aka “Jack,” an old colleague from U of C and also U of T)  From his lecture style and what he has up on the Web, I suspect that this will be quite readable.
Texts Under Negotiation by Walter Brueggemann Heard about this man on a number of Emergent blogs so I’m curious. Seems a little Germanic or should I say turgid??

More about these as I get a chance to read them.  But just got a call from my employer and it sounds like I’m in charge of the store for the next couple of days while she’s away.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

