Lila’s Weblog


Why I am not an Anglican – nor a Mennonite – nor east/west Orthodox
November 4, 2016, 11:06 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am a non-conformist.

I cannot be an Anglican because:
I am opposed to hierarchy. My head is Jesus, not any human being. Joining another branch of Anglicanism is to trade one human head for another. Yes, I acknowledge the sheep-beating (Ezek.34) that is happening in ACoC, but to trade one usurping under-shepherd for another is not an answer that I find appealing.
I am opposed to bibliolatry (Scriptura Sola). My mentor, Lloyd Gedge, impressed me when he said that the Bible cannot stand alone–it was birthed in the Church by the Holy Spirit and all three partner together to reveal Jesus Christ our Lord, the only Word of God. (BTW, that phrase “our Lord Jesus Christ” hints at the Trinity-Father, Son and Holy Spirit)

I cannot be a Mennonite because:
Doctrine matters–neither the brain (general conference Mennonite) nor the hand (Mennonite Brethren) should rule over the heart, and my heart belongs to Jesus.

I cannot be an eastern or western Orthodox because:
Hierarchy. In the Orthodox setting this has led to failure at the top. I knew an archbishop-designate who fell–but I knew him before he was even an Orthodox priest.
Geographic centrism–the eastern Church seems to relish division by geography

My quandary is balancing koinonia with xenophilia. I need the fellowship and conspiracy(breathing together) of the saints but I also need the hospitality extended to the Other.

I could go on my extended rant about our need to deal with the homophilia as evidenced in Christendom before we “fix” the homosexual. I suspect that both male and female homosexuality have some roots in fear-of-the-Other and that same fear needs to be rooted out of Christendom–start at home before we proceed to Samaria and the uttermost parts of the earth. This separation of Christian from Christian is the unholy scandal of Christianity and hence one of the sources of my quandary.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

